Albania signs the 2005 Choice of Court Convention and the 2007 Maintenance Obligations Protocol

Today, 13 February 2024, Mr Ulsi Manja, Minister of Justice, signed, on behalf of the Republic of Albania, the Convention of 30 June 2005 on Choice of Court Agreements (2005 Choice of Court Convention) and the Protocol of 23 November 2007 on the Law Applicable to Maintenance Obligations (2007 Maintenance Obligations Protocol).

The 2005 Choice of Court, which currently binds 32 States and the European Union, and the 2007 Maintenance Obligations Protocol, which currently binds 31 States and the European Union, will respectively enter into force for Albania only after it deposits an instrument of ratification (pursuant to Art. 31(2) of the Convention and to Art 25(2) of the Protocol). More information on the Convention and the Protocol is available on the Choice of Court Section and the Child Support Section of the HCCH website.

At the ceremony, which was held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, depositary of the HCCH Conventions, Mr Manja was accompanied by H.E. Mr Artur Kuko, Ambassador of the Republic of Albania to the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Ms Enkeleda Pano, Advisor to the Minister of Justice, Ms Eva Nastas, Counsellor at the Embassy of the Republic of Albania to the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Ms Diana Stillo-Sila, Head of Sector at the Ministry of Justice, Mr Randis Ismailaj, Assistant of the Minister of Justice, and Ms Adelina Albrahimi, Interpreter.

The depositary was represented by Mr Jules van Eijndhoven, Head of the Treaties Division, and Rieks Boekholt, Senior Legal Officer at the Treaties Division, while the Permanent Bureau of the HCCH was represented by Dr Christophe Bernasconi, Secretary General.

Albania has been a Member of the HCCH since 2002 and is currently a Contracting Party to 14 HCCH Conventions.