Hague Conference has now 55 Member States

On 27 September 2001, Sri Lanka, after having been admitted as a new Member State, accepted the Statute of the Hague Conference and has thus become the 55th Member State of the Organisation. Sri Lanka was already a Party to the Hague Conventions on service abroad of documents, obtaining of evidence abroad, international child abduction, and intercountry adoption.