11: Convention of 5 October 1961 on the Conflicts of Laws Relating to the Form of Testamentary Dispositions

Entry into force: 5-I-1964

View and/or print full status report

Last update: 15-VIII-2017
Number of Contracting Parties to this Convention: 42
The expression “Contracting Party” covers both cases in which the Convention has, and cases in which the Convention has not yet, entered into force for that Party following the deposit of its instrument of ratification, accession, acceptance or approval (see column EIF in the chart).

Contracting Parties and Signatories to this Convention that are also Members of the HCCH (i.e., the Organisation) are in bold; Contracting Parties and Signatories that are not Members of the HCCH are in italics.

Contracting Party S 1 R/A/S2 Type3 EIF4 EXT5 Auth6 Res/D/N/DC7
Albania 25-X-2013 A 24-XII-2013 Res 10,12
Antigua and Barbuda 1-V-1985 Su 1-XI-1981
Armenia 1-III-2007 A 30-IV-2007 Res 10,12,13
Australia 22-IX-1986 A 21-XI-1986 D 17
Austria 5-X-1961 28-X-1963 R 5-I-1964 Res 12
Belgium 10-X-1968 20-X-1971 R 19-XII-1971 Res 10
Bosnia and Herzegovina 23-VIII-1993 Su 6-III-1992
Botswana 18-XI-1968 A 17-I-1969 Res 1,8
Brunei Darussalam 10-V-1988 A 9-VII-1988
China C N
Croatia 23-IV-1993 Su 8-X-1991
Denmark 5-X-1961 21-VII-1976 R 19-IX-1976
Estonia 13-V-1998 A 12-VII-1998 Res
Eswatini 23-XI-1970 A 22-I-1971 Res 9
Fiji 28-VI-1971 Su 10-X-1970 Res 9
Finland 13-III-1962 24-VI-1976 R 23-VIII-1976
France 9-X-1961 20-IX-1967 R 19-XI-1967 D,Res 10
Germany 5-X-1961 2-XI-1965 R 1-I-1966
Greece 5-X-1961 3-VI-1983 R 2-VIII-1983
Grenada 20-V-1985 Su 7-II-1974
Ireland 3-VIII-1967 A 2-X-1967
Israel 11-XI-1977 A 10-I-1978
Italy 15-XII-1961
Japan 30-I-1964 3-VI-1964 R 2-VIII-1964
Lesotho 1-VI-1977 Su 4-X-1966
Luxembourg 5-II-1968 7-XII-1978 R 5-II-1979 Res 1
Mauritius 24-VIII-1970 Su 12-III-1968
Montenegro 1-III-2007 Su 3-VI-2006
Netherlands 17-III-1980 2-VI-1982 R 1-VIII-1982 1 Res
North Macedonia 20-IX-1993 Su 17-XI-1991
Norway 5-X-1961 2-XI-1972 R 1-I-1973
Poland 3-IX-1969 A 2-XI-1969 D,Res 12
Portugal 29-IX-1967
Republic of Moldova 11-VIII-2011 A 10-X-2011 Res 9,10
Serbia 26-IV-2001 Su 27-IV-1992 D
Slovenia 8-VI-1992 Su 25-VI-1991
South Africa 5-X-1970 A 4-XII-1970 Res 9,10,12
Spain 21-X-1976 11-IV-1988 R 10-VI-1988
Sweden 5-X-1961 9-VII-1976 R 7-IX-1976
Switzerland 9-IX-1970 18-VIII-1971 R 17-X-1971 Res 10
Tonga 10-VIII-1978 Su 4-VI-1970 Res 9,10
Türkiye 23-VIII-1983 A 22-X-1983 Res 9,10,12
Ukraine 15-III-2011 A 14-V-2011 Res 9,10,12
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 13-II-1962 6-XI-1963 R 5-I-1964 10 D,Res 9

1) S = Signature
2) R/A/Su = Ratification, Accession or Succession
3) Type = R: Ratification;

A: Accession;
A*: Accession giving rise to an acceptance procedure; click on A* for details of acceptances of the accession;
AEU: Accession by the European Union
AEU*: State bound as a result of the accession by the European Union
A**: Objection
C: Continuation;
Su: Succession;
Den: Denunciation;

4) EIF = Entry into force
5) EXT = Extensions of application
6) Authorities per Convention = Designation of Authorities
7) Res/D/N/DC = Reservations, declarations, notifications or depositary communications