Regional meeting: “International Family Law, Legal Co-operation and Commerce: promoting human rights and cross-border trade in the Caribbean through the Hague Conference Conventions

From 13 to 15 July 2016, 118 participants from 25 States and overseas territories1, including Attorneys General and Ministers of Justice, Chief Justices, Judges, Representatives from Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Child Protection Authorities, the Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH), the Caribbean Court of Justice, the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat, NGOs, academics and practitioners, met in Georgetown, Guyana, to discuss the work of the HCCH and the relevance of some of its core Conventions and instruments to Guyana and the wider Caribbean Region.

The meeting was jointly organised by the Ministry of Legal Affairs and the Attorney General's Chambers of Guyana, UNICEF Guyana, and the HCCH. It built on the Conclusions and Recommendations adopted by the first Caribbean meeting that took place in Bermuda (May 2012) and the second meeting held in Trinidad and Tobago (June 2015).

One of the positive outcomes of the meeting was new designations to the International Hague Network of Judges that were announced by Barbados, Bermuda, the Cooperative Republic of Guyana, Jamaica, Suriname and Turks and Caicos (as well as the announcement of ongoing considerations for Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten).

The Conclusions and Recommendations of the meeting are available here.

Other documents related to the meeting, including presentations and links to the specialised sections for the Conventions and Instruments discussed can be accessed below.

Guyana Meeting Documents

Specialised Sections

Child Protection

Legal co-operation, litigation and commercial law

1.Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Netherlands, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, United States of America; Representatives for Intergovernmental Organisations (IGOs): Caribbean Court of Justice, Caribbean Community (CARICOM), Commonwealth Secretariat, Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, Joint Court of Justice of Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten and of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba