Choice of Court Convention enters into force for Denmark

On 1 September 2018, the Convention of 30 June 2005 on Choice of Court Agreements (hereinafter the “Choice of Court Convention”) entered into force for Denmark, following the deposit of its instrument of accession on 30 May 2018. At the time of its accession, and in accordance with Art. 21 of the Choice of Court Convention, Denmark made a declaration to exclude certain types of insurance contracts from the Convention’s scope; the declaration may be accessed on the status table of the Convention. The Choice of Court Convention currently has 32 Contracting Parties, including one REIO.

Denmark has been a Member of the HCCH since 1955. It is a Contracting Party to 13 Hague Conventions.

More information is available on the Choice of Court Convention Section of the HCCH website.