Judgments Convention: Entry into force and ratification by Uruguay

Today, 1 September 2023, the Convention of 2 July 2019 on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Judgments in Civil or Commercial Matters (2019 Judgments Convention) entered into force, just over four years after its adoption on 2 July 2019. As of today, the Convention has effect between the European Union (EU), including its Members States (except Denmark), and Ukraine.

On this same day, Uruguay deposited its instrument of ratification of the 2019 Judgments Convention, becoming a new Contracting Party to the Convention, which will enter into force for Uruguay on 1 October 2024.

At the ceremony, which was held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, depositary of the HCCH Conventions, Uruguay was represented by H.E. Dr Álvaro Enrique González Otero, Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Netherlands, and Prof. Dr. Verónica Ruiz Abou-Nigm, Chair of Private international Law at Edinburgh Law School (University of Edinburgh). The depositary was represented by Mr Jules van Eijndhoven, Head of the Treaties Division, and Mr Stephan Hessels, Legal Officer at the Treaties Division, while the Permanent Bureau of the HCCH was represented by Dr Christophe Bernasconi, Secretary General, Ms Melissa Ford, Secretary of the Transnational Litigation and Apostille Division, and Dr Ning Zhao, Principal Legal Officer. 

Uruguay signed the 2019 Judgments Convention on 2 July 2019, the day of the adoption of the Convention, becoming its first signatory. Uruguay has been a Member of the HCCH since 1983 and is currently a Contracting Party to five HCCH Conventions

The Judgments Convention establishes a common framework for the global circulation of judgments in civil or commercial matters, overcoming the complexities arising from differences in legal systems. By providing a minimum standard for the circulation of foreign judgments among Contracting Parties, the Convention promotes access to justice for all and facilitates international trade, investment, and mobility by reducing the risks and costs of cross-border litigation.

With the ratification of Uruguay, 29 HCCH Members will be bound by the Convention, namely, the EU, all EU Member States (with the exception of Denmark), Ukraine and Uruguay. Six additional States have signed the Convention but have not yet ratified it.

More information on this Convention is available on the Judgments Section of the HCCH website.