Convention of 18 March 1970 on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil or Commercial Matters

Accession accepted by / Entry into force between Malta and Date of acceptance Entry into force
Argentina 26-VII-2011 24-IX-2011
Australia 9-III-2012 8-V-2012
Belarus 6-VI-2014 5-VIII-2014
Bulgaria 5-XII-2012 3-II-2013
China 2-XII-2011 31-I-2012
Cyprus 8-VIII-2011 7-X-2011
Czech Republic 4-VII-2011 2-IX-2011
Denmark 14-V-2016 13-VII-2016
Estonia 11-IX-2017 10-XI-2017
Finland 13-VII-2011 11-IX-2011
France 4-IV-2011 3-VI-2011
Hungary 22-XII-2022 20-II-2023
Iceland 25-XI-2021 24-I-2022
Israel 13-VII-2018 11-IX-2018
Latvia 5-X-2011 4-XII-2011
Lithuania 28-II-2019 29-IV-2019
Mexico 6-VIII-2013 5-X-2013
Netherlands 30-V-2011 29-VII-2011
Norway 18-VII-2012 16-IX-2012
Republic of Korea 6-XII-2016 4-II-2017
Serbia 9-IV-2013 8-VI-2013
Singapore 4-VI-2021 3-VIII-2021
Slovakia 21-IX-2011 20-XI-2011
Slovenia 26-X-2017 25-XII-2017
Spain 21-VIII-2012 20-X-2012
Sweden 20-X-2020 19-XII-2020
Switzerland 23-IX-2011 22-XI-2011
Türkiye 5-VII-2016 3-IX-2016
Ukraine 31-X-2011 30-XII-2011
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 29-X-2020 28-XII-2020
United States of America 2-IV-2012 1-VI-2012


(acceptance also on behalf of the SAR of Hong Kong and Macao)


The Convention would enter into force between Spain and Malta on 20 October 2012, in accordance with Article 39, last paragraph. However, it will take effect on a later date (see Malta's declaration of 1 August 2012).

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

United Kingdom (also on behalf of the Bailiwick of Jersey, the Bailiwick of Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Akrotiri and Dhekelia (Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus), Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, and Gibraltar)