Islândia - Autoridade Central e informações práticas

[competent authority before the 29.09.2015]


Central Authority as of 29 September 2015:

District Commissioner of Sudurnes (Sýslumaðurinn á Suðurnesjum)

Contact details:

Address: The District Commissioner of Suðurnes
Vatnsnesvegur 33
230 Keflavík
Telephone: +354-458-2200
Fax: -
General website:
Contact person: Inga Lóa Steinarsdóttir
Languages spoken by staff: Icelandic, English

Practical Information:
(The following information was provided by the relevant State authorities or was obtained from the replies to the 2003 and 2008 Service Convention Questionnaires)

Forwarding authorities
(Art. 3(1)):
The District Commissioner of Suðurnes
Methods of service
(Art. 5(1)(2)):
The Central Authority forwards the document to a process server who carries out the task.
Translation requirements
(Art. 5(3)):
Requests for service will only be complied with when the document to be served is written in Icelandic, or if the request is accompanied by a translation, unless the document is meant to be delivered only to an addressee who accepts it voluntarily. Iceland has not entered into any agreement with respect to article 20(b).
Costs relating to execution of the request for service
(Art. 12):
No costs
Time for execution of request: On average 1-2 months.
Judicial officers, officials or other competent persons
(Art. 10(b)):
Oppositions and declarations
(Art. 21(2)):
Click here to read all the declarations made by Iceland under the Service Convention.
Art. 8(2): No opposition
Art. 10(a): No opposition 
Art. 10(b): Opposition
Art. 10(c): Opposition
Art. 15(2): Declaration of applicability 
Art. 16(3): Declaration of applicability 

Derogatory channels (bilateral or multilateral agreements or internal law permitting other transmission channels)
(Arts. 11, 19, 24 and 25)

Information may not be complete or fully updated – please contact the relevant authorities to verify this information.

A multilateral convention on judicial co-operation was concluded between: Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden on 26 April 1974.

The Lugano Convention of 16 September 1988
Useful links:  

(This page was last updated on 13 April 2017)

This page was last updated on: