One of the successor States to the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia which became a Party to the Convention on 11 December 1962.
By letter received by the depositary on 26 April 2001, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (since 4 February 2003 called "Serbia and Montenegro") declared itself to be bound by the Convention. No objection has been received from the Contracting States.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, depositary of the Hague Conventions, has notified the Member States of the Hague Conference on 5 July 2006 that "Following the declaration of the state independence of Montenegro, and under the Article 60 of the Constitutional Charter of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro, the Republic of Serbia is continuing international personality of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro, which was confirmed also by the National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia at its session held on 5 June 2006." On 1 March 2007 the Republic of Montenegro declared itself to be bound by the Convention: "... the Government of the Republic of Montenegro succeeds to the Convention relating to civil procedure, concluded at The Hague on 1 March 1954, and takes faithfully to perform and carry out the stipulations therein contained as from 3 June 2006, the date upon which the Republic of Montenegro assumed responsibility for its international relations."