On 29 October 1976 the Government of Suriname made a declaration of succession in respect of the Convention concerning the recognition and enforcement of decisions relating to maintenance obligations towards children which was signed on 15 April 1958 in The Hague.
The declaration implicitly included the reservation in Article 18 of the Convention made by the Kingdom of the Netherlands.
The Ministry has the honour to inform the Embassy that the Republic of Suriname no longer wishes to retain this reservation as of today.

The Convention continued to apply between Suriname after 25 November 1975 (date of its independence) and: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden. (See under Netherlands extensions.)