Convention of 1 June 1970 on the Recognition of Divorces and Legal Separations

Accession accepted by / Entry into force between Cyprus and Date of acceptance Entry into force
Australia 25-I-1993
China 25-V-1997
Czech Republic 7-VI-1983 6-VIII-1983
Denmark 22-III-1983 21-V-1983
Finland 1-XII-1983 30-I-1984
Italy 25-VI-1986 24-VIII-1986
Luxembourg 27-III-1991 26-V-1991
Netherlands 4-III-1983 3-V-1983
Norway 17-X-1986 16-XII-1986
Poland 14-I-1997
Portugal 15-VIII-1991 14-X-1991
Slovakia 7-VI-1983 6-VIII-1983
Sweden 25-VII-1983 23-IX-1983
Switzerland 15-IX-1983 14-XI-1983
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 26-III-1997 25-V-1997


(Cyprus accepted the accession of Australia on 26 November 1992)


In respect of the Special Administrative Region of Hong Kong only. The accession of Cyprus had been accepted on 26 March 1997 by the United Kingdom also in respect of Hong Kong, to which the Convention had been extended in 1977.

Czech Republic

(acceptance by the former Czechoslovakia)


(for the Kingdom in Europe)


(Cyprus accepted the accession of Poland on 15 November 1996)


(acceptance by the former Czechoslovakia)

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

(also for the Bailiwick of Jersey, the Bailiwick of Guernsey, Hong Kong, the Isle of Man, Bermuda and Gibraltar)