Ukraine signs the 2005 Choice of Court Convention and the 2007 Hague Protocol

Today, Monday 21 March 2016, Ukraine signed the Hague Convention of 30 June 2005 on Choice of Court Agreements (2005 Choice of Court Convention), as well as the Protocol of 23 November 2007 on the Law Applicable to Maintenance Obligations (2007 Child Support Protocol). Ukraine is already a Contracting State to 10 Conventions, and has been a Member of the Hague Conference since December 2003.

At the ceremony, which took place at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, H.E. Pavlo Petrenko, Minister of Justice and Mrs. Natalia Sevostianova, First Deputy Minister of Justice, represented Ukraine. On behalf of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, Secretary General Ms Regina Veronica Maria (Renée) Jones-Bos, Head of the Treaties Division Mr Joseph Damoiseaux, Senior Policy Officer Ms Emma Verhoeff, and Legal Officer Mr Mark Groen also attended the ceremony. Secretary General Mr Christophe Bernasconi and Senior Legal Officer Ms Ning Zhao represented the Permanent Bureau of the HCCH.