On 24 February 1965, the Convention had been extended to Bechuanaland (now Botswana) by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Botswana declared on 16 September 1968 that it considers itself bound by the Convention. The date of entry into force is the date of independence of this State.