The Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia had accepted the Statute on 9 October 1958.
On 1 June 2001 it was established that the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia has become a Member of the Conference on that date with retroactive effect as from 26 April 2001. As of 4 February 2003, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia has changed its name to "Serbia and Montenegro".

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, depositary of the Hague Conventions, has notified the Member States of the Hague Conference on 5 July 2006 that "Following the declaration of the state independence of Montenegro, and under the Article 60 of the Constitutional Charter of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro, the Republic of Serbia is continuing international personality of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro, which was confirmed also by the National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia at its session held on 5 June 2006."