On 24 February 1965, the Convention had been extended to Dominica by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The Commonwealth of Dominica declared on 22 October 2002 that it considers itself bound by the Convention. The date of entry into force is the date of independence of this State.