On 24 February 1965, the Convention had been extended to the New Hebrides (now the Republic of Vanuatu) by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Vanuatu declared on 1 August 2008 that it considers itself bound by the Convention.
None of the other Contracting States have objected to its succession.
The date of entry into force for Vanuatu is the date of its independence (30 July 1980).