On 24 February 1965, the Convention had been extended to Barbados by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. By note of 11 August 1995, received at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of the Netherlands on 30 August 1995, the Government of Barbados stated that it considers itself bound by the Convention which was applicable to its territory before it gained independence on 30 November 1966.