Croatia - Central Authority & practical information

Central Authority(ies):

Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Croatia

Contact details:

Address: Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Croatia
Ulica Grada Vukovara 49
10 000 ZAGREB
Telephone: +385 1 3714 347
Fax: +385 1 3714 392
E-mail: [email protected]
General website:
Contact person: Larisa Kralj
Languages spoken by staff: Croatian, English

Practical Information:
(The following information was provided by the relevant State authorities or was obtained from the replies to the 2003, 2008 and/or 2013 Service Convention Questionnaires)

Forwarding authorities
(Art. 3(1)):
Ministry of Justice
Methods of service
(Art. 5(1)(2)):

Formal Service (Art. 5(1)(a))

The methods of service are prescribed by Civil Procedure Act (Art. 133-149).

Documents shall be served by mail, or through a particular court officer or court employee, through the competent administrative body, a notary public or directly by the court or electronic channels, according to the special law.

In Republic of Croatia, the courts are responsible to serve documents on the addressees, not the Ministry of Justice as central authority.

Translation requirements
(Art. 5(3)):

Documents served pursuant to Article 5, paragraph 1, should be accompanied by a translation into the Croatian language.

Click here to read all the declarations made by Croatia under the Service Convention.

Costs relating to execution of the request for service
(Art. 12):
Croatia bears the costs for the service of documents.
Time for execution of request:  
Judicial officers, officials or other competent persons
(Art. 10(b)):
Republic of Croatia opposed to the mode of service specified in Art. 10.
Oppositions and declarations
(Art. 21(2)):
Click here to read all the declarations made by Croatia under the Service Convention.
Art. 8(2): Opposition
Art. 10(a): Opposition 
Art. 10(b): Opposition
Art. 10(c): Opposition
Art. 15(2): Declaration of applicability 
Art. 16(3): Declaration of applicability 

Derogatory channels (bilateral or multilateral agreements or internal law permitting other transmission channels)
(Arts. 11, 19, 24 and 25)

Information may not be complete or fully updated – please contact the relevant authorities to verify this information.

Bilateral agreement on judicial co-operation: Bosnia & Herzegovina (Split, 26 February 1996); Bosnia & Herzegovina (Split, 17 June 2002); FYR of Macedonia (Skopje, 2 September 1994); Russian Federation (Moscow, 24 February 1962); Serbia (Moscow, 24 February 1962); Turkey (Ankara, 8 October 1973).
Useful links:  

(This page was last updated on 7 March 2014)