Kuwait - Central Authority & practical information

Central Authority(ies):

Ministry of Justice, International Relations Department

Contact details:

Address: The State of Kuwait
Ministry of Justice
International Relations Department
Ministries Complex
Building No 14
P.O. Box 6
Safaat 13001
Kuwait City
Telephone: +965 2248-6367 / 2248 6705
Fax: +965 2243-5221 / 2244-2475 / 2244-1390
E-mail: [email protected]
General website: Ministry of Justice
Ministry of Justice - Directory
Contact person:  
Languages spoken by staff: Arabic, English

Practical Information:
(The following information was provided by the relevant State authorities or was obtained from the replies to the 2003 and/or 2008 Service Convention Questionnaires)

Forwarding authorities
(Art. 3(1)):
Ministry of Justice
International Relations Department
Methods of service
(Art. 5(1)(2)):
Service is processed by the Execution Department, which is subordinate to the Ministry of Justice.
Translation requirements
(Art. 5(3)):
The translation requirements are subject to Article 5 of the Service Convention.
Costs relating to execution of the request for service
(Art. 12):
No charges
Time for execution of request: One week
Oppositions and declarations
(Art. 21(2)):
Click here to read all the declarations made by Kuwait under this Convention
Art. 8(2): Opposition
Art. 10(a): Opposition
Art. 10(b): Opposition
Art. 10(c): Opposition
Art. 15(2): No declaration of applicability  (see declaration confirming non-applicability)
Art. 16(3): Declaration

Derogatory channels (bilateral or multilateral agreements or internal law permitting other transmission channels)
(Arts. 11, 19, 24 and 25)

Information may not be complete or fully updated – please contact the relevant authorities to verify this information.

Bilateral conventions on judicial co-operation: Bulgaria, Egypt (ratified by law 96/1977); Lebanon; Morocco (ratified by law 43/1998); Tunisia (ratified by law 123/1977); Turkey.

A multilateral convention on judicial co-operation was concluded between the States of the Co-operation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates (ratified by law 44/1998).

Co-operation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf

Useful links:  

(This page was last updated on 8 November 2010)